Safely storing credentials and other things with PowerShell

FoxDeploy.com

storing Credentials

Hey guys,

This post is mostly going to be me sharing an answer I wrote on StackOverflow, about a technique I use in my PowerShell modules on Github to safely store credentials, and things like REST Credentials.  This is something I’ve had on my blogging ‘To-Do’ list in OneNote for a while now, so it feels nice to get it written out.

I hope you like it, feel free to comment if you think I’m wrong!

The Original Question

I currently have a project in powershell which interacts with a REST API, and the first step after opening a new powershell session is to authenticate myself which creates a websession object which is then used for subsequent API calls. I was wondering what the best way of going about storing this token object across all Powershell sessions, because right now if I authenticate myself and then close & reopen powershell I need to re-authenticate which is rather inconvenient. I would like the ability to in theory authenticate once and then whenever I open up powershell be able to use my already saved websession object. At the moment I store this websession object in $MyInvocation.MyCommand.Module.PrivateData.Session Original Question

My Take on Safely Storing objects on a machine with PowerShell

Since I’ve written a number of PowerShell Modules which interact with REST APIs on the web, I’ve had to tackle this problem before. The technique I liked to use involves storing the object within the user’s local credential store, as seen in my PSReddit PowerShell Module.

First, to export your password in an encrypted state. We…

View original post 301 more words

Leave a Reply

